You are here: / Education / Women Who Made History / Kim Lew Named CIO of the Year by Amy Whyte

Kim Lew Named CIO of the Year by Amy Whyte

Cornell University, Hartford HealthCare, and MassPRIM chief Michael Trotsky were also honored at II’s third annual Allocators’ Choice Awards.

Kim Lew Discusses The Impact Of Technology, Innovation On Investment Portfolios

Kim Lew is the vice president and chief investment officer of Carnegie Corporation of New York, the oldest private foundation in the country established in 1911. Prior to Carnegie, she spent 13 years at the Ford Foundation and also worked at Prudential Capital and Chemical Bank. During this keynote, Kim discussed her 25 plus years managing portfolios for renowned Foundations; Carnegie’s view on innovation and technology and how it’s impacting institutional portfolios; and why she agrees with Warren Buffet’s call for contrarian investing.

Asset owners have chosen Kim Lew, chief investment officer of the Carnegie Corp. of New York, as the CIO of the Year.

The honor, bestowed at Institutional Investor’s third annual Allocators’ Choice Awards, was voted on by allocators at pension funds, endowments, foundations, sovereign wealth funds, and the like. Lew was chosen from a group of twelve CIOs nominated by their peers for all-around excellence in portfolio construction, risk management, asset allocation, manager selection, board relations, and talent development.

Last year’s Lifetime Achievement honoree Roz Hewsenian presented the award to Lew on Tuesday night during an awards dinner at the Mandarin Oriental in New York.

Other investment organizations honored over the course of the evening included Cornell University, which won Turnaround of the Year for CIO Kenneth Miranda’s rehabilitation of the school’s lagging Ivy League endowment, and Chicago Teachers’ Pension Fund, which was voted Changemaker of the Year for its commitment to investing with diverse businesses and asset managers.

The Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, led by 2017 CIO of the Year Jason Klein, won Team of the Year. Investment Committee/Board of the Year went to the State of Wisconsin Investment Board, chaired by David Stein, executive vice president at Associated Banc-Corp. To read more go to the link below:

PureHistory ℗ is your source to learn about the broad and beautiful spectrum of our shared History.